Polite Introductions

Hello There!

Considering how vast the internet is, and how many blogs there are out in the “blogoshpere” (Is that still a word? Was that ever a word?) I am very happy that you made it to my little corner of the web. You see, I gave up refined sugar for Lent, and I want to tell you about it.

Put aside for the moment any preconceived notions you have about Lent, and please ignore the fact that Lent over. It took a great deal of thinking before I decided that I wanted to share my Lenten experiences with anyone, because to be honest, it hasn’t been all unicorns and rainbows (or machine guns and Rambo, if that’s what you’re into [that and I have a thing about autobiographical works, but that’s another diatribe]).

First of all, think about what exactly it is that I gave up: refined sugar. It’s very specific. I didn’t say all sugar, because there is sugar in almost everything, natural or added, and you actually need sugar to survive. Go ahead, ask your local medical professional. However, refined sugar is another matter. Most people know this as white sugar, the stuff that’s found in almost every kitchen cupboard. In this case, I also included high fructose corn syrup, but I’ll get to that later. But what foods contain refined sugar? I’m glad you asked:

  • bread
  • cake and other baked goods
  • most peanut butter
  • nutella (look on the label, it’s the first ingredient)
  • marinara sauce (though some people make it without sugar)
  • most salad dressings
  • condiments (including bbq sauce, which hurt me deeply to have to give up)
  • cereal
  • chocolate (ladies, imagine trying to get through your period knowing there is no sweet relief for you)
  • any kind of candy, for that matter

The list of course goes on, but if I were to keep going that would be a blog in itself. Suffice it to say that if you look at the list of ingredients on a food package and it says “sugar,” it has refined sugar in it which means I can’t eat it. Why did I put myself through all this? Most people give up one thing, like chocolate, or beer, or bacon, so why did I make it so hard on myself? For Jesus? Nope, not for Jesus. Well, not all for Jesus, which is still pretty impolite, if you think about it. I mean, the man died on a cross. Very painful (don’t believe me? go to the history channel or Wikipedia). But I’m getting off topic here…

I gave up refined sugar for the health benefits, but I’ll get to that-

Later! Later, yes, I get the picture.

Who are you?

I am the audience you’re imagining reading this, getting filled with imagined impatience.

Oh all right, I just didn’t want to put too many details in an introduction

Just get on with it.

Okay, okay!

Thank you.

Wait!

Yes?

Will you come back for my next post?

It’s your imagination, do what you want.

Sheesh. The nerve of some people. Anyway, the bottom line is, I’ll be writing about my sugar-free experiences (the good, the bad, and the ugly), delicious recipes I’ve found, what I think are exceptional workouts and exercise habits, and anything else that comes to mind, because while I want to try to keep this strictly about healthy living, I know that’s a lost cause.

One thought on “Polite Introductions

  1. Pingback: Science Thursday: Sugar | Sweet yet Unrefined

Leave a Reply

