Poetry Tuesday: V

Happy Poetry Tuesday!! (I’ve kept it up for five weeks now, aren’t you proud of me? I’m proud of me) This week’s poem has two parts, which I wrote at two separate times. The first part…I can’t tell you much about. Not for any emotional reason, but I don’t remember why I wrote it. Is that awful or what? I mean, I read it and I think “Yeah, I wrote that,” but I can’t remember what I was thinking when I wrote it so I’m not really sure what I was going for. I can’t even remember when I wrote it, though based on where it sits in my notebook, it was sometime between July 2012 and February 2013 (perhaps later). Super specific, I know.

The other half, however, I do remember. I wrote it in response to the first half. I was skimming it over and thought it was missing something, so BOOM, there you have your Poetry Tuesday. Enjoy 🙂

Children of Cold and Sun

If I was a child of the cold,
I would be sheathed in ice,
Glittering, diamond, motionless.
Neither wind nor sound could
Move me.

If I was a child of the cold,
I would dance like the snowflake,
Unique and free, resting on
A bed of sleeping earth,
Alone, waiting for the world to
Wake and melt me.

If I was a child of the cold,
I would walk like the wind,
Never still, and never touched.
Moving is the only way
I could have you feel me.

If I was a child of the cold,
I would hide from the sun.
I would die under the sun,
The cold cries under the sun.
A child of the sun could never

Know me.

If I was a child of the sun,
I would warm the earth.
Warm skin, trees, and hearts,
Calling life up towards me.

If I was a child of the sun,
I would glitter like a firefly;
Fleeting shocks of brilliance,
Keeping light hidden
Deep inside me.

If I was a child of the sun,
I would sing like the grass.
Reaching tall, swaying slow,
Twirling the wind around me.

If I was a child of the sun,
I would kiss the ice.
Sun burns ice,
Ice burns sun,

The child of cold would leave me.

Leave a Reply

